

Advisory Neighborhood Commission 2F

Government of the District of Columbia 5 Thomas Circle, NW | Washington, D.C. 20005 Telephone: (202) 642-3168 | www.anc2f.org

Commissioners

2F01 Jason Forman, Secretary 2F02 John Guggenmos, Vice-Chair **2F03 John Bottino** 2F04 John Fanning, Chair

2F05 Madeleine Stirling 2F06 Ian Simon **2F07 Kevin Sylvester 2F08 Janice Ferebee**

Angela Kissel, Executive Director

September 24, 2019

(via email only) Board of Zoning Adjustment 441 4th NW, Suite 210S Washington, DC 20001

BZA Case No. 20138 Re:

1436 S Street N.W

Application for Proposed Renovations and Additions

Dear Members of the Board,

On September 4, 2019 at a duly held and properly noticed public meeting with a quorum (at least five commissioners) present and acting throughout, Advisory Neighborhood Commission 2F (ANC2F) voted unanimously (7-0) to support the application for 1436 S Street N.W as the application met both the general special exception criteria and the criteria for special exception approval pursuant to E-5201. Additionally, the project will be in harmony with the general purpose and intent of the Zoning Regulations and Zoning Maps and will not tend to affect adversely, the use of neighboring property. The proposed addition to the accessory building will not impact the light, air, or privacy of the adjacent neighbors. The proposed addition has also been carefully designed and will not substantially visually intrude upon the character, scale, and pattern of houses along the alley.

The commission further resolves that it be represented by Commissioner Kevin Sylvester before the BZA in connection with this case, should that be testimony or any other communication about the matter. After careful scrutiny and consideration, the ANC urges the Board, pursuant to District of Columbia Code § 1-309.10, to accord great weight to its advice and approve the application, subject to any conditions described above.

Sincerely yours,

Commissioner John Fanning Chairman, ANC 2F

September 24, 2019 Page 2

cc:

(Via Email only) ANC 2F Executive Director

Kevin Sylvester, CDC Committee, Chair Jason Foreman, Commissioner ANC 2F-01 bzasubmissioners@dc.gov